Books and Friends

May 25, 2010 at 1:28 pm (Musings of a Writer)

Let’s start with this quote that inspired me for this post…

“Friendship is born at that moment when one person says to another: “What! You too? I thought I was the only one.”
C.S. Lewis

How true? Has anyone felt this way? Had something like this happen?

I have. I remember one time specifically. I had been so excited about one of my first articles for Suite101.com. Mainly because it was my first article but also becuase I wrote it on one of my favorite books; Acheron by Sherrilyn Kenyon. So, I was so excited and had no one to share it with, so I just jotted a quick message about it on Facebook. As it turned out, a friend of the family saw it and contacted me.

We had one of those C.S. Lewis moments…What? You too? I thought I was the only one.

I didn’t know she liked those paranormal romance novels and she didn’t know I liked them. It was a revelatory moment. The next time we saw each other, we were able to talk books and share some with one another. A friendship had begun.

Books bring people together in ways nothing else can. Readers are unique and what they read more so. Readers are alone when they read. SOme of us like it that way because we meet the characters, but reading and writing is a lonely business.  Take these words by Jessamyn West: Writing is a solitary occupation. Family, friends, and society are the natural enemies of the writer. He must be alone, uninterrupted, and slightly savage if he is to sustain and complete an undertaking.” Even Moliere said: Books and marriage go ill together.” However, All readers must rememeber a very poignant fact…

“So now, all alone or not, you gotta walk ahead. Thing to remember is if we’re all alone, then we’re all together in that too.” – P.S. I love you

So, we are never really alone. There is always someone out there who feels just as  alone as we do, and maybe, just maybe…they are reading the same book you are.

Leave a Reply

