Fairytales…to read or not to read?

May 25, 2010 at 2:28 pm (Musings of a Writer)

Some people disagree with fairytales? Why is that?

What makes a fairytale so wrong…I know Christian families who have decided not to let their children watch fairytale movies or read fairytale books. Why is that? What makes a fairytale unchristian? Ungodly?

Is Disney bad?

I don’t think so. Honestly I think you are doing wrong to a child by not allowing them to see what creativity and an inspired imagination can do. I don’t think watching The Little Mermaid swim in the sea, takes anything away from reading about Daniel in the Lion’s Den.

In fact, I think fairytales help us. I believe they help us exercise our imagination, strengthen our creativity and I think they give kids courage. Reading the Bible makes it apparent that God is here for us, with us, in us and around us but it also is clear on something else…Gos will not do everything for us. He will not make our lives perfect and ease all our troubles, not until we are with Him in paradise.

So we pray to gather strength from the Lord because we know that we can not conquer this world alone. I think fairytales can come in here…

“Fairy tales are more than true; not because they tell us that dragons exist, but because they tell us that dragons can be beaten.”
G.K. Chesterton

In Disney movies, evil is always conquered. There is always a happy ending. The Bible has a dragon destroyed, as does Sleeping Beauty. Miracles happen in the Bible and they happen in fairytales too. Ugly creatures are cured in the Bible, as is one in Beauty and the Beast.

What if, we explained the Christian significance of Sleeping Beauty to children? The people of the world are attacked by the devil, and now they sleep in their sin. They sleep in their pain. Waiting, waiting, waiting for a hero to come in and save the day. And low and behold…A prince. A prince comes to the rescue. Riding on his noble white steed, carrying his sword of truth and his shield of virtue. This prince is surrounded by thorns and sheds his blood in honor to rescue the waiting bride. Their banquet moves from earth to the clouds where they live in happiness.

So, this seems like a Biblical tale to me, just put into a way children can understand. I mean, correct me if I am wrong, but is not Jesus supposed to come: … dressed in a robe dipped in blood, and his name is the Word of God. The armies of heaven were following him, riding on white horses and dressed in fine linen, white and clean. Out of his mouth comes a sharp sword with which to strike down the nations… as foretold in Revelation 19:13-15. And has not sleeping been a word for those dead? SO can we not use this verse: …the dead in Christ will rise first. After that, we who are still alive and are left will be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air…as told in 1 Thessalonians 4:16-18.

SO, it seems to me, reading fairytales is not a bad thing, not an ungodly thing and nothing you should prevent your child from doing. It saddens me to see 18 year olds, placed in the real world, going to public schools and being subjected to horrific language, poor influence, etc. and not being allowed to watch Disney movies, or read fairytales.

And don’t even get me started on the Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis. That is biblically oriented and comes out as a beautifully written, God-inspired fairytale.

Sorry for rambling, I just see no point in preventing children from being subjected to fairytales in the name of God. That saddens me and I don’t understand it. Writing and reading is such a beautiful gift and an exceptional way for people to share their creative imaginings with the world.

1 Comment

  1. jeneyhart said,

    um, totally stealing my thunder here girl, and I LOVE it!!! rock on!!! I wrote about this in brief in relation to Santa Claus a while ago, it might be on my blog…

Leave a Reply

